In cricket, there is a saying that goes, “Batsmen win games, bowlers win championships.” IPL is no exception. This explains why, while bowlers have made a significantly bigger influence, just one orange hat wearer has been a part of an IPL-winning squad. The top five bowlers with the most wickets in a season are discussed in this article.

The most successful bowlers in the IPL receive a purple cap and a cash award of INR 10 lakhs. Over the years, the IPL has featured quite a few unique bowlers. Most of the time, they have led the charge for their teams.

Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets In IPL In A Single Season

1. Harshal Patel (32 Wickets in IPL 2021)

The right-arm fast bowler Harshal Patel now holds the record for most IPL wickets in a single season. He played for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2021, where he amassed 32 wickets in one IPL season from 15 games, averaging 14.34, and had an 8.14 economy. His bowling performance aided RCB in securing their spot among the top four teams. By dismissing Hardik Pandya, Keiron Pollard, and Rahul Chahar in the 39th IPL 2021 match against Mumbai Indians, he also completed a hat trick and was a key factor in RCB’s victory. Harshal Patel was given his Indian team debut thanks to his achievement in the IPL 2021. He debuted in the 2012 IPL with RCB in a game against the Mumbai Indians.

Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets In IPL In A Single Season

2. Dwayne Bravo (32 Wickets in IPL 2013)

The former West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo is in second place for getting the most wickets in a single IPL season. He has been an essential member of the Chennai Super Kings and helped his club in the 2013 IPL season 6 by capturing 32 wickets in a single IPL season. He played in 18 games for CSK in 2013 and bowled nearly 63 overs, taking 32 wickets at an average of 15.53 and 7.95 at an economy rate. Bravo’s performance in the final tournament of 2013 against MI when CSK met MI was fantastic. Bravo grabbed 4 wickets and stopped Mumbai at 148 runs, however, CSK lost that game. With 26 wickets in 2015, Dwayne Bravo once again set the record for most wickets taken and was given the Purple Cap.

Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets In IPL In A Single Season

3. Kagiso Rabada (30 Wickets in IPL 2020)

The fastest bowler from South Africa, Kagiso Rabada, is ranked third for most IPL wickets in a single season. While playing for the Delhi Capitals in the year 2020, Rabada accomplished this achievement by taking 30 wickets from 17 matches at an average of 18.26 and an economy of 8.34. In 2020, his outstanding bowling performance helped the Delhi Capitals advance to the IPL final for the first time ever. He joined Delhi Capitals in 2017 and played just six games before making his IPL debut. He has taken 85 wickets overall from 57 games, averaging 20.73 and with an 8.20 economy rate.

Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets In IPL In A Single Season

4. Lasith Malinga (28 Wickets in IPL 2011)

The former captain of Sri Lanka, Lasith Malinga, ranks fourth on the list of IPL players with the most wickets taken in a single season. In 2011, Lasith Malinga grabbed 28 wickets from 16 matches while playing for the Mumbai Indians, averaging 13.39 and 5.95 with the ball. He was the Mumbai Indians’ most effective and dangerous bowler, contributing to the team’s greatest championship victories. The Mumbai Indians (MI) are now a renowned team as a result of his bravery. Lasith Malinga began his IPL career in 2009 after being chosen by the Mumbai Franchise. In his maiden IPL encounter against the Chennai Super Kings, he got 3 wickets to secure Mumbai’s victory.

Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets In IPL In A Single Season

James Faulkner (28 Wickets in IPL 2013)

James Faulkner, a left-arm seamer from Australia, is currently ranked fifth in IPL history for most wickets in a single season. He was a player for the Rajasthan Royals in 2013 and finished the season as the second-highest wicket-taker with 28 wickets from 16 matches at an average of 15.25 and an economy of 6.75. He did not, however, win the Purple Cap in 2013, but he did take the most wickets, which is why he is on the list of IPL players with the most wickets in a single season. James Faulkner began his IPL career with the Pune Warriors and made his debut against the Delhi Capitals, but sadly there was no winner. Over the course of 60 IPL games, Faulkner has 59 wickets at an average of 30.14 and an economy of 8.69.

Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets In IPL

Top 10 Bowlers With Most Wickets In IPL In A Single Season

Bowler Wickets Matches Team Season
Harshal Patel 32 15 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2021
Dwayne Bravo 32 18 Chennai Super Kings 2013
Kagiso Rabada 30 17 Delhi Capitals 2020
Lasith Malinga 28 16 Mumbai Indians 2011
James Faulkner 28 16 Rajasthan Royals 2013
Jasprit Bumrah 27 15 Mumbai Indians 2020
Yuzvendra Chahal 27 17 Rajasthan Royals 2022
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 26 14 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2017
Dwayne Bravo 26 17 Chennai Super Kings 2015
Imran Tahir 26 17 Chennai Super Kings 2019


Who took the most 5 wickets in IPL?

Only two bowlers—Jaydev Unadkat and James Faulkner—have multiple five-wicket hauls in the IPL. The Mumbai Indians have taken four five-wicket hauls, which is more than any other team.

Who has the lowest economy in IPL?

Rashid Khan, first (GT)

He has participated in 77 games and taken 94 wickets with the lowest economy of 6.33. He was acquired by Gujarat Titans in the IPL 2022 mega auction, where he will play for the team coached by Hardik Pandya. See here for a list of Rashid Khan’s best IPL bowling performances.

Who is the No 1 bowler in IPL?

With 170 wickets, Lasith Malinga held the record for the longest time in IPL history until Dwayne Bravo overtook him in IPL 2022.

Who has taken 6 wickets in IPL?

In the IPL, Sohail Tanvir of the Rajasthan Royals in 2008 and Adam Zampa of the Rising Pune Supergiant in 2016 each claimed a six-wicket haul.

Who is the best spinner in IPL?

No. 1 Yuzvendra Chahal (RR): 9/10
Given that Yuzvendra Chahal was unquestionably the best spinner on display during IPL 2022, the answer is simple.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *