The next ICC event will be held in Australia. The T20 World Cup 2022 will start on October 16 (Sunday) when Sri Lanka will face Namibia in the first round of the tournament. This season will see 16 teams competing to become the World T20 Champions.

A total of 240-245 players will participate in the upcoming WT20 in Australia. But did you know that in all eight editions of this marquee event, only two players participated? So far, the world has seen seven T20 World Cups, the last one was won by Australia. The inaugural edition was held in South Africa in 2007, where India became champions for the first time. So these two players competed in this edition and will play in the next edition as well.

Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)

Players who have competed in all editions of the T20 World Cup

World No. 1-ranked T20I all-rounder and Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan are among the two players who have featured in all editions of the T20 WC. He played in 2007 when Mohammad Ashraful was the captain and 15 years later he himself will lead his country in this competition.

Shakib Al Hasan

Shakib is among the top performers in T20 WC history. In fact, he holds the record for the most wickets in the history of the tournament. He has played 36 matches in the World Cup and has taken 47 wickets at an economy rate of 6.78. Shakib also took three-four wickets with the best figures of 4/9. This is not. The all-rounder is also among the highest run-scorers in the competition. In 36 games, he has scored 742 runs at an average and strike rate of 23.94 and 122.44 respectively, including three fifties.

Rohit Sharma (India)

Players who have competed in all editions of the T20 World Cup

Another player who has competed in all editions of the T20 World Cup is Indian captain Rohit Sharma. The 35-year-old made his T20I debut in the 2007 T20 WC against England under MS Dhoni. Since then, he has been part of the Indian team that has played in all editions. But this time, he will lead the Indian team in the most important event.

Rohit Sharma

However, with his age, it is more likely that this will be his last T20 WC, so he wants to make the most of it. Rohit is among the highest run scorers in this competition. In fact, she is fourth overall and not far behind Mahila Jayawardene (1016). Rohit has scored 963 runs in 39 matches at an average of 34.39 and a strike rate of 127.89, including 9 fifties. He needs just 53 more runs to become the highest run-scorer in T20 World Cup history.


How many editions of T20 World Cup are there?

The opening round of matches between Sri Lanka and Namibia kicked off the eighth edition of the T20 Men’s World Cup 2022. The event will feature 16 teams in total, with Australia serving as the defending winner.

On Sunday, Indian captain Rohit Sharma became the most-capped player in the history of the ICC T20 World Cup. This accomplishment was accomplished by the great Indian batter during his team’s Group 2, Super 12 match against South Africa in Perth.

Who has played in every T20 World Cup?

The world’s top-ranked T20I all-rounder and Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan are two players who have appeared in every edition of the T20 World Cup.

Which player has played for most T20 teams?

Gayle has also participated in all major T20 cricket leagues, representing a total of 29 teams across various franchises.

Has Pakistan won T20 World Cup?

Sri Lanka and Pakistan have now met in three T20 World Cup finals. While Sri Lanka reached the T20 World Cup final in 2009 (runners-up), 2012 (runners-up), and 2014 (champions), Pakistan has reached the final in 2007 (runners-up), 2009 (champions), and 2022 (runners-up).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *