The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced a new format for the Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024. The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be held in the West Indies and the United States of America. The T20 2024 World Cup will feature 20 teams divided into four groups of five teams each. The Super 12 round will be played following the first round. In the Super Eight round, they will divide the field into two groups of four teams each. These four teams will compete in the semifinals before the final match. We discuss the new format for the Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024.

New format for 2024 Men's T20 World Cup

New format for 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup

The opening round of the last two T20 World Cups included two groups of four teams each, including both teams that qualified for the competition and teams that placed between ninth and twelfth in the previous World Cup. In the second round, the top two teams from each group that had advanced to the first stage joined the other eight teams who had previously qualified for the Super 12 stage.

Twelve teams have already committed to competing in the 2024 T20 World Cup.

West Indies and the United States qualified automatically as the competition’s hosts. In addition to the defending champions England, those that placed in the top eight of the 2022 competition were Pakistan, India, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and the Netherlands.

The other two teams had already secured their spots because, as of the deadline of November 14, 2022, Afghanistan and Bangladesh were ranked second and third, respectively, in the ICC’s T20I rankings.

Regional qualifiers will be used to fill the final eight positions.

The T20 World Cup is currently being won by England, who defeated Pakistan on November 13 in Melbourne.

Team Path of Qualification
West Indies Hosts
USA Hosts
Australia 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
England 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
India 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
Netherlands 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
New Zealand 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
Pakistan 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
South Africa 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
Sri Lanka 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
Afghanistan Next best on T20I rankings at Nov 14 cut-off
Bangladesh Next best on T20I rankings at Nov 14 cut-off

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *