We keep hearing how the game will be dominated by the batsman. It should be noted, nevertheless, that the bowler frequently alters the course of the game to his advantage. A team needs a strong group of bowlers to win a competition. The IPL, the biggest T20 competition in the world, is a case in point. Teams with outstanding bowlers have excelled throughout time, while those with weak bowlers frequently fall behind.

It is well known that the Indian Premier League (IPL) gives some of the top players in the globe a platform to excel on the global stage. Bowlers struggled to make a name for themselves in a competition that featured some of the best players in the world. Some bowlers have been able to hold onto their positions throughout time due to their perseverance. On the basis of consistency alone, bowlers with the most wickets in IPL history are rated.

Most Wickets In IPL History By A Bowler

1. Dwayne Bravo 183 Wickets (161 Matches)

The IPL’s leading wicket-taker, Dwayne Bravo, has taken 183 wickets in 161 games. Bravo is one of the death-over experts and a right-arm medium pacer known for his varied speed. He currently plays for the Chennai Super Kings after previously playing for the Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Lions. 16 times for his club, Dwayne Bravo has taken three or more wickets. With the Mumbai Indians, Dwayne Bravo started his IPL career, and since then, he has changed the game by capturing 183 wickets at a strike rate of 23.86. 2013 was a great year for him, as he won the Purple Cap and took 32 wickets in 18 games. For taking 26 wickets in the IPL, he was once more given the Purple Cap for the entire eighth season.

Most Wickets In IPL History By A Bowler

2. Lasith Malinga 170 Wickets (122 Matches)

On the list of Indian Premier League players who have taken the most wickets, Lasith Malinga is ranked second. In the final overs, Malinga was renowned for his slow-yorker balls. In 122 IPL games, he has 170 wickets at an average of 19.80. Lasith Malinga began his IPL career with Mumbai Indians, taking against Chennai Super Kings in his inaugural game. Lasith Malinga received the Purple Cap in 2011 for his 28 wickets during the IPL’s fourth season. He was one of the select few players who clubs would consistently keep on their rosters. He has taken three or more wickets on 18 different occasions, including a five-wicket haul.

Most Wickets In IPL History By A Bowler

3. Amit Mishra 166 Wickets (154 matches)

For taking the most wickets in the IPL, Indian squad member Amit Mishra, a right-arm leg break spinner, is ranked third. In 154 IPL games, he has 166 wickets at an average of 23.95. He claimed three or more wickets 16 times throughout his IPL career, including a five-wicket haul while representing the Delhi Capitals, Deccan Chargers, and Sunrisers Hyderabad. In the game against Rajasthan Royals, he made his IPL debut for Delhi Capitals (previously Delhi Daredevils). He has never been successful in taking home the IPL’s Purple Cap.

Most Wickets In IPL History By A Bowler

4. Yuzvendra Chahal 166 Wickets (131 Matches)

The IPL’s highest wicket-taker, right-arm leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, is ranked fourth overall. In 121 IPL games, Yuzvendra Chahal has made an appearance and has claimed 166 wickets at an average of 21.83. Although he had his greatest bowling season in 2015, when he took 23 wickets, he is yet to receive his first Purple Cap. Yuzvendra Chahal began his IPL career with the Mumbai Indians and faced the Kolkata Knight Riders in his inaugural game in 2013. He also played for Royal Challengers Bangalore, and as of right now, he is a member of the Rajasthan Royals for the 2022 season.

Most Wickets In IPL History By A Bowler

5. Piyush Chawla 157 Wickets  (165 Matches)

The right-arm leg spinner Piyush Chawla is ranked fifth for taking the most wickets in the Indian Premier League. Chawla has 157 wickets at an average of 27.39 and an economy of 7.88 in 165 IPL games. He has taken three or more wickets in the IPL on 12 different times, and his greatest bowling performance came in 2008 when he grabbed 17 wickets for his team. In 2008, while playing for Punjab Kings, he made his IPL debut against Chennai Super Kings (formerly known as Kings XI Punjab). Piyush Chawla spent six seasons with Punjab Kings, where he began his IPL career and was a major member of the team. Piyush Chawla played a significant role in that final by taking 2 crucial wickets and scoring the decisive winning 13 runs off 5 balls while chasing the 200-run target while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders, which advanced to the final against Punjab Kings and won the IPL trophy. Additionally, he has worked for the Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Chennai Super Kings.

5. Piyush Chawla 157 Wickets  (165 Matches)

Top 10 Highest Wicket Taker in IPL

Pos Player Matches Overs Runs Wickets Average Economy BBI
1 Dwayne Bravo 161 516 4359 183 23.82 8.38 4/22
2 Lasith Malinga 122 471 3366 170 19.8 7.14 5/13
3 Amit Mishra 154 540 3980 166 23.98 7.36 5/17
4 Yuzvendra Chahal 131 475 3624 166 21.83 7.61 5/40
5 Piyush Chawla 165 545 4301 157 27.39 7.88 4/17
6 Ravichandran Ashwin 184 649 4535 157 28.89 6.98 4/34
7 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 146 542 3971 154 25.79 7.3 5/19
8 Sunil Narine 148 576 3820 152 25.13 6.63 5/19
9 Harbhajan Singh 163 569 4030 150 26.87 7.08 5/18
10 Jasprit Bumrah 120 455 3378 145 23.3 7.39 5/1


Who is the No 1 wicket-taker in IPL?

With 183 wickets in total, Dwayne Bravo holds the record for most wickets in IPL history.

Who is the number 1 bowler in IPL?

With 170 wickets, Lasith Malinga held the record for the longest time in IPL history until Dwayne Bravo overtook him in IPL 2022.

Has any bowler taken 1000 wickets?

You are correct that when all three international forms are considered, Muttiah Muralitharan and Shane Warne both broke the 1000-wicket mark. In the end, Murali had 1347 wickets, compared to Warne’s 1001 (800 in Tests, 534 in ODIs, and 13 in T20s, both records) (708 in Tests and 293 in ODIs).

Who is the king of bowlers in IPL?

Lasith Malinga, the IPL’s Bowling King

IPL is a particularly tough competition for bowlers because Indian surfaces primarily favor hitters.

Who bowled the fastest ball in IPL?

Shaun Tait bowled the fastest delivery in IPL history, clocking it at 157.7 kph while participating in one of the seasons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *