When it comes to T20 International cricket, India has produced some of the game’s most talented and successful batsmen. The record for most runs scored by an Indian player is one of the most important achievements for the Indian cricket squad in T20I. This record is held by a player who has consistently done well in T20Is and has established himself as one of the world’s finest batsmen. He has scored runs in all formats of the game, but his propensity to score runs in T20 Internationals is particularly impressive.

There are batsmen on the Indian team who have scored over 2500 runs in T20 internationals.

Most runs in T20 for India

1. Virat Kohli (4008 Runs)

Virat Kohli is an aggressive middle-order batter in T20 for India, with 4008 runs in the shortest format of the game. His highest score is 122* runs, and he is still scoring a single T20 international century. Virat Kohli is one of the world’s best players and one of the fittest in cricket. On June 12, 2010, he made his T20I debut against Zimbabwe in Harare. From 2010 to 2022, he set numerous records and was named captain of India’s cricket team in all formats. His 4008 runs were scored in 107 innings over 115 matches at a strike rate of 137.96.

Virat Kohli (India)

2. Rohit Sharma (3853 Runs)

Rohit Sharma, one of India’s best openers, currently holds the record for most T20 runs scored. From 2007 to 2022, he scored 3853 runs for India and appeared in 148 T20Is. His highest score is 118 runs, and he has four centuries and 29 fifties in 140 innings. He made his international T20 debut against England on September 19, 2007, at Kingsmead, where the Indian team scored 218 runs in 20 overs but Rohit Sharma did not bat because he was a lower middle-order batsman at the time. Then, after several ups and downs in his career, he gradually succeeded and is now one of the most important players.

4. Rohit Sharma (India)

3. KL Rahul (2265 Runs)

KL Rahul is a right-handed opening batsman and the vice-captain of the Indian International Team in all formats. On June 18, 2016, he played his first T20 match against Zimbabwe in Harare. Rahul is the first Indian batsman to score a century on debut. He is India’s third-century batter in all formats of cricket. Rahul scored the fastest century in T20 history against India in just 46 balls. This opening batsman is also the first Indian batter to be dismissed by a hit-wicket in a T20 match. Rahul has now played 68 innings and has scored 2265 runs at a strike rate of 139.12. He has two centuries and twenty-fifties in T20. His T20 average is also impressive.

KL Rahul

4. Shikhar Dhawan (1759 Runs)

Shikhar Dhawan, who began his career in the shortest format of the games against West Indies at Queen’s Park Oval on June 4, 2011, is among India’s top four scorers in T20. Since 2011, he has been a successful opener for the Indian cricket team, scoring 1759 runs in 66 innings in 68 T20Is at a strike rate of 126.36. For his aggressive play in the opening pair, he is known as the Gabbar of Team India.

Shikhar Dhawan

5. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (1617 Runs)

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, a former Indian cricketer, is ranked 5th in terms of the most T20 runs scored for India. He has been one of India’s most successful captains and a superb finisher. Mahendra Singh Dhoni made his debut in a T20 international against South Africa on December 1, 2006, at The Wanderers Stadium. From 2006 to 2019, he appeared in 98 T20Is and scored 1617 runs in 85 innings.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Here is the List of the most runs in T20 for India

Let’s check out some of the top 10 players who have scored the most runs in T20 for India.

Player Span Runs Innings Highest Score
Virat Kohli 2010-2023 4008 107 122*
Rohit Sharma 2007-2023 3853 140 118
KL Rahul 2016-2023 2265 66 110*
Shikhar Dhawan 2011-2021 1759 66 92
Mahendra Singh Dhoni 2006-2019 1617 85 56
SK Raina 2006-2018 1605 66 101
SA Yadav 2021-2023 1578 43 117
HH Pandya 2016-2023 1205 64 71*
Yuvraj Singh 2007-2017 1177 51 77*
Shreyas Iyer 2017-2022 1043 45 74*
Rishabh Pant 2017-2023 987 56 65*


Who scored the most runs in T20 for India?

Rohit Sharma, the captain of the Indian T20 team and the opening batsman, scored the most runs in T20 with 3737. During his T20 career, he scored four centuries and 28 fifties.

Who scored the most runs in T20 for India 2021?

Captain Rohit Sharma scored the most 424 runs with a 38.54 average in T20 for India 2021.

Who is the best Virat or Rohit?

Virat has scored at a better average and more than 50 plus. Therefore, Virat is the best batsman in all formats.

Who is the best Indian batsman?

In the history of the Indian Cricket Team, Sachin Tendulkar is the best batsman of all time. He has many world records still.

Who scored the most T20 runs in 2022?

The Indian middle-order batsman SK Yadav scored the most 801 runs in T20 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *