Because of the limited amount of overs and the emphasis on scoring runs fast, bowlers face a lot of pressure in T20 cricket. Even minor errors can have a huge impact on the game’s outcome. Furthermore, a bowler who gives up a lot of runs can hurt their team’s chances of winning.

And if it’s a World Cup match, the pressure on the bowlers is enormous because one bad performance can knock their team out. On a bad day, it can get even worse. In some games, bowlers conceded runs at a rate greater than 15. As a result, in this article, we will examine the most runs conceded by a bowler in T20 World Cup in history.

1. Sanath Jayasuriya (64 runs) in the 2007 World Cup against Pakistan

This unpleasantness was valuable to Sanath Jayasuriya, who was known for his exploding batting and hard-hitting of the ball. Sri Lanka and Pakistan met in the 16th match of the inaugural edition in 2007. Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl first. Pakistan’s first three wickets did fall for only 33 runs. However, two professional batsmen, Shoaib Malik, and Younis Khan added 101 runs for the fourth wicket and both reached their half-centuries.

Sanath Jayasuriya (64 runs) in the 2007 World Cup against Pakistan

Malik scored 57 off 31 balls and Younis scored 52 off 35 balls, trying to smash the bowlers all over the ground. Jayasuriya, who is more than just a useful bowler, had a bad day in that match. He allowed 64 runs in four overs without taking a wicket. Pakistan achieved a total of 189 runs. Sri Lanka could only manage 156/9 in furtherance of the target, losing the match by 33 runs. With this, Jayasuriya established the record for most runs allowed in an inning.

2. Mashrafe Mortaza (63 runs) against Pakistan in an ICC T20 World Cup Match in 2014

This was the second version on the list, and once again it was Pakistani batters who attacked the bowler. Bangladesh and Pakistan met in the 27th match of the 2014 event. Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first. Ahmed Shehzad batted marvelously and scored an undefeated record century. He scored 111* off 62 balls, contributing to his team’s total of 190/5.

Mashrafe Mortaza (63 runs) against Pakistan in an ICC T20 World Cup Match in 2014

Pakistan hammered every Bangladeshi bowler apart from one or two. Mashrafe Mortaza, their top bowler, was hammered to all parts of the ground in special. As a result, he had the second most high-cost spell in T20 world cup history. He allowed 63 runs in four overs without taking a wicket. Bangladesh could only manage 140/7 in response to the target, losing the match by 50 runs.

3. Lemeck Onyango (61 runs) against Sri Lanka in an ICC T20 World Cup in 2007

This was one of the most legendary T20 World Cup matches ever played. In the first inning, it had one of the highest team scores ever. Sri Lanka and Kenya did meet in the eighth match of the 2007 World Cup. Kenya have choose to bat first after winning the toss, but it was the total opposite of what they would have preferred. Sri Lankan batters pounced on their bowlers. Sanath Jayasuriya, in particular, batted brilliantly, scoring 88 runs off 44 balls.

Lemeck Onyango (61 runs) against Sri Lanka in an ICC T20 World Cup in 2007.

Skipper Jayawardene also scored 65 off 27, and Jehan Mubarak’s late clip of 46 off 13 balls managed to help Sri Lanka post a massive score of 260/6. Every Kenyan bowler had a terrible ordeal day on the field that day. Lemeck Onyango bowled the third-worst figure of 61 runs in four overs without taking a wicket in that match. In pursuit of this massive target, Kenya faltered and was all out for 88 runs. Sri Lanka won the match by 172 runs, the largest margin of victory in that match.

Top Ten Worst T20 World Cup Bowling Figures

Bowler Runs Overs Econ Against Year
Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 64 4 16 Pakistan 2007
Mashrafe Mortaza (Bangladesh) 63 4 15.75 Pakistan 2014
Lemeck Onyango (Kenya) 61 4 15.25 Sri Lanka 2007
Stuart Broad (England) 60 4 15 India 2007
Mitchell Starc (Australia) 60 4 15 New Zealand 2021
Naveen-ul-haq (Afghanistan) 59 4 14.75 India 2021
NN Odhiambo (Kenya) 57 4 14.25 Sri Lanka 2007
Joginder Sharma (India) 57 4 14.25 England 2007
Brett Lee (Australia) 56 4 14 West Indies 2009
Izatullah Dawlatzai (Afghanistan) 56 4 18.66 England 2013


Which bowler conceded the most runs in World Cup?

On March 16, 2007, former Sri Lankan captain ST Jayasuriya conceded the most 64 runs in the T20 World Cup against Pakistan.

Who is the most expensive bowler in T20?

Kasun Rajitha of Sri Lanka is the most expensive T20I bowler so far. In 2019, he gave up 75 runs for no wickets against Australia in Adelaide.

What is Malinga’s track record?

Malinga captained Sri Lanka to victory in the 2014 T20 World Cup and is the only bowler in international cricket history to take four wickets in four balls twice.

Who got six wickets in six balls?

Six wickets fell in six balls in a Nepal Pro Club Championship 2022 match. It also contains a hat trick. Virandeep Singh, a left-arm spinner, accomplished this feat.

Who among the bowlers has never been hit for a six?



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *