T20 cricket has traditionally been a batsman’s game. Bowlers, on the other hand, have an equal impact on any game’s outcome. That is why, in most tournaments, a team with a well-balanced bowling attack finishes toward the top. And there have been other occasions when, regardless of batting performance, the bowlers have won the game for their team.

Surprisingly, pushing boundaries can benefit the team in a variety of ways. In the case of a tie and a super-over tie, the team with the most boundary numbers can win the match. The most dramatic example of this was in the 2019 ODI World Cup final between England and New Zealand. England won that game on the basis of a boundary count. So, in this article, we will look at the top ten batsmen in T20 World Cup history who have the most fours.

1. Mahela Jayawardene (111 fours) in 31 matches

Former Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene is without a doubt one of the best batsmen in the game’s history. He is a world-famous batter in all formats. His legacy in the T20 World Cup remains unsurpassed, as he is the only batter to have scored more than 1000 runs in the tournament.

Most Fours in T20 World Cup

But when it comes to hitting fours, Jayawardene is at the top of the list. In the 31 games he has played, he has hit 111 fours and scored 1016 runs. The former Sri Lanka captain also has a century and six half-centuries to his name.

2. Tillakaratne Dilshan (101 fours) in 35 matches

Another Sri Lankan batsman follows next on the list. And he is none other than explosive opener Tillakaratne Dilshan, who is ranked second. Dilshan appeared in six T20 World Cups for Sri Lanka, totaling 35 appearances. The former opener has 897 runs scored with 101 fours and 20 sixes.

Most Fours in T20 World Cup

During this time, he has also scored six half-centuries. Dilshan was a key contributor to Sri Lanka’s first T20 World Cup victory in 2014. He also has the third most runs in the event’s history.

3. Rohit Sharma (80 fours) in 30 matches

The Indian captain, Rohit Sharma, follows him on the list. He also played in the inaugural World Cup and the final World Cup in 2021. But he will now captain India in the upcoming T20I World Cup in Australia. Rohit has played in 33 matches and scored 847 runs with 80 fours.

Most Fours in T20 World Cup

He also has eight half-centuries and 31 sixes to his name. With both Dilshan and Jayawardene having retired, Rohit has a good chance of making it to the top, but it will take an extraordinary performance. Notably, David Warner has hit 80 boundaries while scoring fewer runs than Rohit Sharma.

Top ten players with the most fours in T20 World Cup

Player Country M Runs Fours Sixes
Mahela Jayawardene Sri Lanka 31 1016 111 25
Tillakaratne Dilshan Sri Lanka 35 897 101 20
Rohit Sharma India 30 847 80 31
David Warner Australia 33 762 80 31
Chris Gayle West Indies 33 965 78 63
Virat Kohli India 21 845 78 20
Brendon McCullum New Zealand 25 637 67 19
Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka 31 661 63 11
Martin Guptill New Zealand 28 617 61 24
Gautam Gambhir India 21 524 61 3


Who hit the most fours in T20 World Cup?

Sri Lankan legend Mahela Jayawardene leads the list of most fours in the T20 World Cup, with 111 to his name.

In T20, which team has the most sixes?

The West Indies are the first team in T20 International history to hit 1000 sixes. It’s not surprising given the team’s six-hitting ability. New Zealand and India will be the next teams to surpass the 1000 sixes mark in T20Is, following the Caribbean nation.

Who hit the most sixes in T20?

Chris Gayle of the West Indies cricket team currently holds the record for most sixes hit in T20 cricket. Chris Gayle, widely regarded as the greatest T20 batsman in history, has smashed 1056 sixes in 463 matches.

What is India’s lowest score in T20?

India’s lowest T20 score was 74 against Australia in Melbourne in February 2008. In T20 cricket, their second-lowest total was 79 against New Zealand in Nagpur.

Who is the most runs in T20 World Cup?

Mahela Jayawardena leads the T20 World Cup batting charts, which include several star batters such as Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli in the top 10. With 303 runs in six innings, Pakistan captain Babar Azam was the leading run-scorer in the 2021 edition. In the T20 World Cup, Jayawardena scored 1016 runs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *