Most T20 franchise league records and milestones are associated with batting because, after all, it is a batsman’s game. However, bowlers have an equal role to play in the game, and they do so in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), Pakistan’s main T20 tournament, which is held yearly.

The PSL T20 tournament debuted in 2016, and there have been six completed seasons since then, with new batting and bowling records being set each year. We recently listed all of the PSL centuries scored to yet, and on this page, we will discuss bowling records and list all of the PSL 5-wicket hauls bagged to date.

Most Five Wickets Haul in PSL

Read More: Most Wickets Takers Bowlers in PSL

List of all PSL 5-Wicket Hauls Ever Taken

Sr.No Player Team 5 Wicket Haul Venue Season Venue
01 Ravi Bopara KK 01 LQ 12 Feb 2016 Sharjah
02 Faheem Ashraf IU 01 LQ 09 Mar 2019 Karachi
03 Mohammad Sami IU 01 KK 20 Feb 2016 Dubai
04 Naseem Shah QG 01 KK 29 Jan 2020 Karachi
05 Rashid Khan LQ 01 PZ 10 Jun 2021 Abu Dhabi
06 Shadab Khan IU 01 QG 03 Feb 2022 Karachi
07 Shaheen Afridi LQ 01 MS 09 Mar 2018 Dubai
08 Shahid Afridi PZ 01 QG 14 Feb 2016 Sharjah
09 Umar Gul MS 01 QG 07 Mar 2018 Dubai

Five Wickets Haul in PSL 2016:

Ravi Bopara 6 Wickets 16 Runs

In 2016, he recorded the first five-wicket haul in PSL history for Karachi Kings. He finished the game with six wickets for sixteen runs and was named player of the match for having the best bowling statistic in the PSL. Karachi Kings won the match by 27 runs because of his outstanding performance.

Muhammad Sami 5 Wickets 8 Runs

Muhammad Sami Sami took the second five-wicket haul of the PSL 2016 season and was named player of the match for his 5 wickets on 08 runs in 04 overs. This was Islamabad United’s first five-wicket haul and Muhammad Sami’s lone five-wicket haul in the PSL. As a result, United easily won that game.

Read More: Most Runs in PSL History

Shahid Afridi 5 Wickets 7 Runs

Lala was the third five-wicket taker in the PSL 2016, demonstrating his exceptional performance with the ball. In four overs for Peshawar Zalmi, he only gave up seven runs and took five wickets. As a consequence, Zalmi defeated Quetta Gladiators by an inning and eight wickets.

Five Wickets Haul in PSL 2018:

Shaheen Afridi 5 Wickets 4 Runs

Shaheen Afridi is a leading wicket-taker in the PSL. He was brutal in 2018, with a five-wicket haul in the league. In his 3.4-over performance, he grabbed 05 wickets for 4 runs; it was a miraculous inning for Afridi, which resulted in Qalandar’s victory over Multan Sultans.

Umar Gul 6 Wickets 24 Runs

Umar Gul Gul took the second five-wicket haul in the PSL 2018. In total, he got six wickets for 24 runs in four innings. He was named player of the match and contributed to the victory over Multan Sultans.

Five Wickets Haul in PSL 2019:

Faheem Ashraf 6 Wickets 19 Runs

Faheem Ashraf grabbed Islamabad United’s only 05-wicket haul in PSL 2019. In this match, he grabbed six wickets for 19 runs in four overs. Faheem was one of the greatest bowlers this season, and his performance in the PSL wowed everyone.

Five Wickets Haul in PSL 2020

Naseem Shah 5 Wicket 20 Runs

Naseem Shah was the lone PSL 2020 wicket-taker for Quetta Gladiators in a match against Karachi Kings. In total, he grabbed five wickets for 20 runs in four overs. Quetta Gladiators easily won that match thanks to his outstanding effort.

Read More: Top 5 Most Runs Scorers PSL 2022

Five Wicket Hauls in PSL 2021

Rashid Khan 5 Wickets 20 Runs

The leg-spinner was the only player in the PSL 2021 season to take five wickets. He took 5 wickets for 20 runs in a match against the Quetta Gladiators. Because of his great performance, Lahore Qalandars won that match by 10 runs, and he was chosen as the player of the match.

Five Wicket Hauls in PSL 2022:

Shadab Khan 5 Wickets 28 Runs

Got his third five-wicket haul for Islamabad United in a PSL 07 encounter (2022). In four overs, he grabbed five wickets and allowed 28 runs. United won that game by a big margin thanks to his brilliance with the ball.


Mohammad Aamir scored the first hat trick for Karachi Kings in the PSL’s inaugural season in 2016. Aamir, who was 23 at the time and had recently returned to cricket after serving a five-year sentence for spot-fixing, finished the match with 3-27. Junaid Khan, another left-arm seamer, is the next to score a hat trick.

Sarfraz Ahmed, captain of the Quetta Gladiators, is the most successful captain, having won the most matches (29) in his career. His squad finished second in 2016 and 2017 and won the championship in 2019.

Who is the king in PSL?

Babar Azam leads the team in run-scoring, while Mohammad Amir leads in wicket-taking.

What is the fastest delivery in PSL?

Haris Rauf has set a new PSL 7 record with a delivery of 149.4 kph against Multan Sultans.

Is PSL making a profit?

As a result of organizing PSL-7 this year, the Pakistan Cricket Board made a tidy profit of PKR 2.3 billion (about USD 11,941,400).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *