The International Cricket Council (ICC) publishes Men’s Test Rankings for Batsmen, Bowlers, and All-Rounders on a regular basis to recognize and honor individual players’ efforts in the game’s longest format. A points system is used to generate these rankings, which take into account a player’s runs, wickets, and overall performance in Test matches. These rankings provide insight into players’ present status as well as a baseline for their future performance. The rankings are updated following each Test series and provide a comprehensive analysis of the world’s greatest players across all three categories. Test cricket is regarded as the sport’s peak, and these rankings represent players who have consistently performed well in the format and have been able to retain their form over time.

ICC Men’s Test Rankings – Batsmen, Bowlers and All-Rounders

ICC Men’s Test Rankings – Batsmen

With a rating of 929, Marnus Labuschagne is ranked first among men’s test batters in the ICC rankings. The ranking of men’s test-playing batsmen is listed below.

1 Marnus Labuschagne AUS 929
2  Steve Smith AUS 892
3 Babar Azam PAK 862
4 Travis Head AUS 841
5 Joe Root ENG 826
6 Kane Williamson NZ 810
7 Riahabh Pant IND 797
8 Usman Khawaja AUS 770
9 Dimuth Karunaratne SL 748
10 Rohit Sharma IND 732
11 Daryl Mitchell NZ 712
12 Litton Das BAN 702
13 Jonny Bairstow ENG 697
14 David Warner AUS 680
15 Virat Kohli IND 676
16 Dinesh Chandimal SL 673
17 Tom Blundell NZ 671
18 Shreyas Iyer IND 666
19 Tom Latham NZ 654
20 Angelo Mathews SL 654

ICC Men’s Test Rankings – Bowlers

The Men’s Test Bowlers Rankings, which are updated based on each player’s performance in a Test match, are listed below.

1 Pat Cummins AUS 878
2 James Anderson ENG 835
3  Jasprit Bumrah IND 812
4 Ravichandran Ashwin IND 812
5 Ollie Robinson ENG 805
6 Shaheen Afridi PAK 787
7 Kagiso Rabada SA 776
8 Kyle Jamieson NZ 772
9 Mitchell Starc AUS 749
10 Josh Hazlewood AUS 733
11 Kemar Roach WI 727
12 Trent Boult NZ 724
13 Neil Wagner NZ 716
14 Nathan Lyon AUS 713
15 Tim Southee NZ 712
16 Stuart Broad ENG 712
17 Anrich Nortje SA 663
18 Mohammad Shami IND 657
19 Akshar Patel IND 639
20 Ravindra Jadeja IND 639

ICC Men’s Test Rankings – All-Rounder

To be included in the list of ICC Men’s Test All-Rounders Ranking, players must excel with both the bat and the ball. The Men’s Test All-Rounders Rankings, which are updated in response to each Test match’s results, are listed below.

1 Ravindra Jadeja IND 369
2 Ravichandran Ashwin IND 343
3 Shakib Al Hasan BAN 329
4 Ben Stokes ENG 324
5 Mitchell Starc AUS 275
6 Jason Holder WI 273
7 Kyle Mayers WI 238
8 Pat Cummins AUS 237
9 Colin de Grandhomme NZ 229
10 Joe Root ENG 219
11 Kyle Jamieson NZ 213
12 Marco Jansen SA 198
13 Chris Woakes ENG 195
14 Akshar Patel IND 192
15 Cameron Green AUS 189
16 Keshav Maharaj SA 188
17 Stuart Broad ENG 173
18 Mehedi Hasan BAN 167
19 Kagiso Rabada SA 166
20 Sikandar Raza ZIM 164

Who developed ICC Ranking System?

In 1987, Ted Dexter made a recommendation that led to the creation of the ratings.

When are the rankings updated?

The Test rankings are typically updated by the ICC after each Test match (often within 12 hours) and the ODI ratings at the conclusion of each ODI series. However, if another Test match is taking place, the rankings are typically not released.

How ICC Men’s Test Batsmen Rankings calculated?

Not Out but Not In (Bonus points are given to Not out players)

Ratings of the opposition bowling attack; the value of the batsman’s innings is proportionately increased the higher the total ratings of the bowling attack.

More runs, or bonus points, are determined by runs scored. More credit will be given for a century in the second inning than the first.

Whichever point runs are scored. A player receives more rating points if he or she scores runs during a time of crisis for his or her team.

The number of runs scored during the game. A player’s 100 runs in this innings are worth less than they would in a low-scoring match if both teams score just 150 runs since the algorithm would rank a match as high scoring if both teams score 500 in an innings.

A player receives bonus points if his side wins the game and he scores more runs than the opposition. However, extra points will be awarded if the team defeats a powerful opponent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *