T20 World Cup always provides audiences with some remarkable performances. When it arrives at the ICC event, every player and every team intends to give their all. For this reason, we have seen some extraordinary performances and players emerge from nowhere. In this article, we will look at the batsmen who have won the Golden Bat in the T20 World Cup since its inception.

The T20 World Cup has previously been hosted seven times, with the next event scheduled for October 2022 in Australia. Surprisingly, former Indian captain Virat Kohli owns the record for the most runs scored in a single edition of the T20 World Cup.

Golden Bat in T20 World Cup

List of Golden Bat Winners in T20 World Cup

1. Mathew Hayden (265 runs) in the 2007 T20 World Cup

In 2007, South Africa hosted the first edition of the shorter format. Mathew Hayden, a former Australian swashbuckling opener, was the first “Golden Bat” winner. In the 2007 edition, he was the leading run-scorer. Hayden scored 265 runs in six matches, averaging 88.33 and striking at 144.80, with four half-centuries.

Golden Bat in T20 World Cup

2. Tillakaratne Dilshan (317 runs) in the 2009 T20 World Cup

Tillakaratne Dilshan was one of Sri Lanka’s most underappreciated batsmen. Between 2009 and 2012, he was at his peak. That is what he demonstrated in the 2009 edition. In the 2009 World Cup, he won the “Golden Bat,” which was the main reason Sri Lanka made it to the Finals. Dilshan scored 317 runs in seven matches, averaging 52.43 and striking at 144.74, with three half-centuries.

Golden Bat in T20 World Cup

3. Mahela Jayawardene (302 runs) in the 2010 T20 World Cup

Another Sri Lanka legacy on the list is no other than former captain Mahela Jayawardene. When it came to the T20 World Cup, the legends batsman was at his best. During the 2010 season, he was awarded the “Golden Bat.” Jayawardene finished the season with 302 runs in six games, averaging 60.40 runs per game and striking out 159.78 times.

Golden Bat in T20 World Cup

4. Shane Watson (249 runs) in the 2012 T20 World Cup

At the start of the last decade, the former Australian all-rounder was at his peak. In 2012, he was awarded the “Golden Bat.” Watson scored 249 runs in six innings, averaging 49.80 and striking out 150 times, including three half-centuries. He was at his most explosive with both bat and ball in that tournament.

Golden Bat in T20 World Cup

5. Virat Kohli (319) in the 2014 T20 World Cup

There aren’t many batting records held by the former Indian captain. He still holds the record for the most runs scored in a single edition. Bangladesh hosted the 2014 edition. Virat scored 319 runs in six innings, averaging 106.33 with a strike rate of 129.15 and hitting four half-centuries. Despite the fact that India did not advance to the finals, Virat won the “Golden Bat” award.

Golden Bat in T20 World Cup

6. Tamim Iqbal (295 runs) in the 2016 T20 World Cup

Tamim Iqbal has always performed admirably at the top of the order for Bangladesh. That’s what he demonstrated during the 2016 World Cup in India. The left-handed pitcher finished the season with the most runs and was awarded the “Golden Bat.” He scored 295 runs in six games, with an average strike rate of 73.75 and 142.52, respectively, including a century and a half-century.

Golden Bat in T20 World Cup

7. Babar Azam (303) in the 2021 T20 World Cup

The Pakistani captain is arguably the best batsman in the world right now. That is what he demonstrated at the most recent ICC event in the UAE. Babar led his team to the semi-finals and ultimately won the “Golden Bat.” He drove in 303 runs in six innings, averaging 60.60 and striking out 126.25. He also had four half-centuries.

Golden Bat in T20 World Cup

Golden Bat Winner in T20 World Cup List

Player Runs Team Series
Babar Azam 303 Pakistan 2021
Tamim Iqbal 295 Bangladesh 2016
Virat Kohli 319 India 2014
Shane Watson 249 Australia 2012
Mahela Jayawardene 302 Sri Lanka 2010
T. Dilshan 317 Sri Lanka 2009
Mathew Hayden 265 Australia 2007


Who is the fastest 50 in T20 World Cup?

Yuvraj Singh of India holds the record for the fastest 50 in T20 cricket history. Yuvraj hit England’s Stuart Broad for six sixes in six balls during his 58-run innings against England in the 2007 T20 World Cup.

How many times has India won T20 World Cup?

In 2007, India won the T20 World Cup for the first time. In 2007, India defeated Pakistan in the final by 5 runs to win the first World T20 trophy.

Who made 2 centuries in T20 World Cup?

Chris Gayle holds the record for most T20 world cup centuries. He has twice scored 100 runs or more. First in 2007, and then again in 2016.

Who is the No 1 captain of T20?

Rohit Sharma has now won 31 of his 37 T20I matches as captain. He has only lost six pounds. His win percentage as skipper in this format is a whopping 83.78 percent. MS Dhoni is India’s all-time most successful T20I captain.

Who scored 1st 100 in T20?

Chris Gayle of the West Indies scored the first T20I century against South Africa at the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 in 2007. South Africa won the match, one of only 18 occasions when the team with the century-scoring player did not win.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *