Many people believe that T20 is a game for batters because of their ability to take down bowlers. Furthermore, T20 required the same level of skill from batters and bowlers. A team that requires expertise in both sectors would never win a major tournament such as the T20 World Cup. A bowler’s role is critical. Their four-over spell has the ability to change the game completely. This article will go through all of the “Golden Ball” winners from the T20 World Cup.

Golden Ball Winner in T20 World Cup

Golden Ball winner in T20 World Cup List

1. Umar Gul (13 wickets) in 2007 World Cup

Pakistan has world-class fast bowlers. Umar Gul was another name who could annihilate any batting lineup on his own. That’s exactly what he did in the inaugural T20 World Cup in South Africa. Gul was one of the reasons Pakistan made it to the tournament’s finals. He took 13 wickets in seven matches and was awarded the tournament’s “Golden Ball.”

Golden Ball Winner in T20 World Cup

2. Umar Gul (13 wickets) in 2009 World Cup

Umar Gul is the only bowler in history to have won the “Golden Ball” award twice and in consecutive years. In both the 2007 and 2009 T20 World Cups, the Pakistani pacer took the most wickets. In seven games, he took 13 wickets.

3. Dirk Nannes (14 wickets) in 2010 World Cup

Dirk Nannes was one of the game’s most underappreciated pacers. He bowled some incredible spells for Australia. He was at his best during the 2010 World Cup, winning the “Golden Ball.” Nannes finished the tournament with the most wickets. In only seven games for Australia, he took 14 wickets.

Golden Ball Winner in T20 World Cup

4. Ajantha Mendis (15 wickets) in 2012 World Cup

Sri Lanka has consistently produced some of the finest spinners in the game. Ajantha Mendis was just another mystery spinner who was difficult to predict. Mendis won the “Golden Ball” award and finished the 2012 T20 World Cup with the most wickets. He took 15 wickets in six matches, with the best figure being 6/8.

Golden Ball Winner in T20 World Cup

5. Imran Tahir  (12 wickets) in 2014 World Cup

Imran Tahir is one of the best cricket ball ingredients. The veteran leg-spinner has led South Africa to so many victories in all formats. His record in white-ball, on the other hand, is impeccable. Tahir was the World Cup’s joint-leading wicket-taker in 2014. In the 2014 edition, he and Ahsan Malik of the Netherlands each had 12 wickets. Tahir, on the other hand, won the “Golden Ball” award despite playing only five games.

Golden Ball Winner in T20 World Cup

6. Mohammad Nabi (13 wickets) in 2016 World Cup

In the 2016 World Cup in India, the Afghan all-rounder was at his best. He demonstrated to the world what he could do with the ball in his hands. He finished the tournament with the most wickets and was awarded the “Golden Ball.” Nabi took 12 wickets in seven matches, averaging 4/20.

Golden Ball Winner in T20 World Cup

7. Wanindu Hasaranga  (16 wickets) in 2021 World Cup

Another spinner from Sri Lanka was the last “Golden Ball” winner. Wanindu Hasaranga was on fire during the 2021 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates. He also broke the record for most wickets in a single season. Hasaranga took 16 wickets in eight games, with a best of 3/9.

Golden Ball Winner in T20 World Cup

Golden Ball winner in T20 World Cup All Time

Player Wickets Team Series
Wanindu Hasaranga 16 Sri Lanka 2021
Mohammad Nabi 12 Afghanistan 2016
Ahsan Malik / Imran Tahir 12 Netherlands / South Africa 2014
Ajanta Mendis 15 Sri Lanka 2012
Dirk Nannes 14 Australia 2010
Umar Gul 13 Pakistan 2009
Umar Gul 13 Pakistan 2007


How is the golden ball decided in the Cricket world cup?

The ICC World Cup’s top wicket-taker receives the Golden Ball Award. While there was a ranking of the wicket-takers at every World Cup, the first award was given in 1975. If more than one player has the same number of wickets, both are awarded the Golden Ball.

What is the Golden Bat award?

The Golden Bat Award is given to the ICC World Cup’s leading run scorer. While every World Cup had a run scorers ranking, the first award was given in 1975. If more than one player has the same number of runs, both of them receive the Golden Bat.

Who is the Golden Boot winner of 2021 in the T20 World Cup?

Wanindu Hasaranga of Sri Lanka won the Golden Ball Award at the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Who won the most World Cups in cricket?

Australia is the most successful World Cup team, having won the tournament five times and finishing second twice. The first two tournaments were won by the West Indies, and India also won it twice. Pakistan and Sri Lanka have each won a tournament.

Who is the fastest 100 in ODI?

South African batsman AB de Villiers currently holds the record for the fastest ODI century, scoring it in 31 balls. Captain AB de Villiers batted brilliantly against the West Indies at the Wanderers Stadium, scoring 149 runs in 44 balls at a rate of 338.63.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *