T20 cricket is a popular sport among fans. Cricket fans appreciate seeing batsmen knock massive sixes and boundaries. Because the batter has been given permission to go crazy and assault the bowlers. They must score more and more runs with just 120 balls in an inning. Batters, on the other hand, have put in some spectacular efforts.

In the T20 World Cup, there have been nine such occasions when a batsman scores a century. A century always puts a team in a nearly winning position, but it is extremely difficult to reach the century mark in the shorter format. So, in this article, we’ll talk about the fastest century scored by a batsman in the T20 World Cup.

1. Chris Gayle (100 off 47 balls) vs. England in the 2016 World Cup

Chris Gayle is without wonder the most furious hitter the game of cricket has ever seen. There isn’t much that Gayle doesn’t are all under his name. He is also at the top of this list. The “Universe Boss” batted the fastest century in the T20 World Cup.

Chris Gayle (100 off 47 balls) vs. England in the 2016 World Cup

This game was against England. The English team scored 182/6 runs in 20 overs when batting first. In their quest for the target, the West Indies lost their opener, Johnson Charles, in the first over. However, Gayle’s storm single-handedly took the match away from England. The southpaw hit a 47-ball century to help his team win the match. He was undefeated on 100* off 48 balls.

2. Chris Gayle (100 off 50 balls) in the 2007 World Cup against South Africa

The “Universe Boss” also has the second fastest century in the ICC event. The left-hander is the only batsman in T20 World Cup history to score two centuries. The century came against South Africa in the very first game. This was the first century hit by any batsman in the ICC event.

Chris Gayle (100 off 50 balls) in the 2007 World Cup against South Africa

Batting first, the West Indies managed to amass a massive 205/6 in 20 overs. Chris Gayle scored a wonderful century off just 50 balls in that game. He hit 117 off 57 balls, as well as seven boundaries and ten sixes. However, West Indies were defeated in that match by Herschelle Gibbs’ brilliant knock of 90*. Gayle, on the other hand, was named “Man of the Match.”

3. Brendon McCullum (100 off 51 balls) in the 2012 World Cup against Bangladesh

Brendon McCullum, the former New Zealand skipper, is third on this ranking. McCullum, known for his big hits and instant runs, scored this century in the 2016 World Cup against Bangladesh. The Kiwis batted first and scored 191/3 in 20 overs. McCullum hit a 51-ball century to help his team reach a big total.

Brendon McCullum (100 off 51 balls) in the 2012 World Cup against Bangladesh

At a strike rate of 212.06, he finished the innings with 124 runs off 58 balls, including 11 boundaries and seven maximums. This is the highest score by a batter in the T20 World Cup to date.

T20 World Cup Fastest Century List

Player Runs Balls Against Year
Chris Gayle (West Indies) 100* 48 Bangladesh 2007
Chris Gayle (West Indies) 117 57 South Africa 2012
Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) 123 58 England 2016
Ahmed Shehzad (Pakistan) 111* 62 Bangladesh 2014
Suresh Raina (India) 101 60 South Africa 2010
Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh) 111* 63 Oman 2016
Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka) 100 64 Zimbabwe 2010
Alex Hales (England) 116* 64 Sri Lanka 2014
Jos Buttler (England) 101* 67 Sri Lanka 2021


Who is the fastest century in T20?

Chris Gayle holds the record for the fastest T20 century, scoring in just 30 balls against Pune in the 2013 edition of the Indian T20 League.

Who scored the fastest 100 in World Cup?

Kevin O’Brien of Ireland holds the record for the fastest century (50 balls). Andy Flower of Zimbabwe scored a century in his World Cup ODI debut in 1992.

What is the lowest T20 score that has been defended?

Sri Lanka defended the lowest total in ICC T20 World Cup history, 119 runs, against the New Zealand team in 2014.

Who scored the first T20 double-century?

Cornwall became the first batter in T20 cricket history to score a double century, surpassing his countrymate Chris Gayle, who scored the then-highest T20 score of 175 in the sixth edition of the Indian Premier League in 2013.

Who has the most T20 centuries?

India’s Rohit Sharma leads the list with four T20I centuries, followed by Sabawoon Davizi of the Czech Republic, Glenn Maxwell of Australia, and Colin Munro of New Zealand, who each have three. Evin Lewis of the West Indies is one of 12 players who have scored two T20I centuries.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *